17–18 May 2025

Concert 1 - Lacrimosa

Saturday 21 May 2022 at 11.00 am

Our first concert presents strikingly different manifestations of ‘lateness’ in composition. After a brief word from Mozart, with the ‘Lacrimosa’ that was interrupted by his own death, we survey Bartók’s fiendishly demanding Sonata for Violin Solo Sz. 11; Brahms’s elegiac Intermezzi Op. 117; and Scriabin’s atonal and mystical Piano Sonata No. 8. Anne Cawrse’s poignant ‘Last First Light’ is a duet between a man on death row and his mother, before Fanny Mendelssohn’s defiant Piano Trio in D minor Op. 11 explodes the parameters of the genre.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart arr. Czerny
‘Lacrimosa’ arranged for piano four hands from Requiem K. 626 (1791)
Konstantin Shamray (piano), Lucinda Collins (piano)

Béla Bartók
Sonata for Violin Solo, Sz.117 (1944)
Andrew Haveron (violin)

Johannes Brahms
Three Intermezzi Op. 117 (1892)
Paavali Jumppanen (piano)

~ Interval ~

Alexander Scriabin
Piano Sonata No. 8 Op. 66 (1912–13)
Konstantin Shamray (piano)

Anne Cawrse / Peter Goldsworthy
‘Last First Light’ (2021–22) — Australian premiere
Lorina Gore (soprano), Kim Worley (tenor)

Fanny Mendelssohn
Piano Trio in D minor Op. 11 (1846–47, published posthumously 1850)
Seraphim Trio (Helen Ayres (violin), Tim Nankervis (cello), Anna Goldsworthy (piano))